on Raspberry Pi

I find it hard to find decent tutorial on Raspberry Pi in Bahasa Indonesia. A little blogwalking this morning and I finally found it on a familiar source, the blog of mas TedyThis post on bandwidth control  using Raspi is exactly the one I’ve been looking for.

But for the Raspberry Pi itself, I have another story.

I have always have a place deep inside my heart for those little computer  that sips ridiculously low wattage. Perhaps it was that once in my lifetime, all I need was just a car battery  power  lightbulb (one or two) plus a television set and a two band radio (remember AM/SW ? ), and I live a happy life.

I got my hand on  two (or three?) mini-itx motherboards a few years back as well as a HP Jornada 690. Those are little machines that could satisfy my daily tasks– editing documents, browsing the internet, email, some games. The price for mini-itx was quite good, and the 150w PSU made me believe that I have done service to mother earth. The Jornada itself was amazing for its time. I could use wireless card and it has crazy battery life, so toting around  laptop just for quick edit of office documents or email was not necessary anymore. It was before the time of netbook. But then again, it was USD200 versus USD400 for a new netbook for that time. The laptop from my workplace? more than USD1500 I’d say.

I spent some time learning the basic of gnu-linux  and tasted FreeBSD on the the mini-itx and  Jornada. And then I began to know Mac with their PPC processor and their mindbogglingly low wattage. PPC  laptop or mac mini + OS X was the holy grail. Low power usage, instant-on, and beautiful GUI. Mini-itx was no longer the only energy saver computer.

Then Mac went south to the Intel camp. Then came along Intel Atom. Then netbook. ultrabook. tablet. android in a stick. and so on and so on and on. But I didn’t budge.

Fast forward to 2012, came Raspberry Pi. A single board computer with 512mb of memory and  700mhz processor, can (could only) boot from SD card or USB flash drive, has HDMI as well as RCA port. Now it is possible to have a  computer that only needs a 5v micro usb power adapter , and in an instant I have a computer more powerfull than my previous mini itx boxes. With 3.5watt of power usage ! I still haven’t try  *BSD, though.

Nevertheless, very few tutorials recommends using Raspberry Pi for sarary man’s daily computer. We could argue about that for ever, but I’d say it suffice for email and browsing the internet.  We’ll see more about that.

This entry was posted in otjehan sagala matjem and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to on Raspberry Pi

  1. Angga says:

    learn english!

  2. susiloharjo says:

    Wuis jadi tuku Rpi he3, nek aku rpi ne di nggo ngutek2 arduino 🙂

Leave a Reply

